Silent Approach Workshop at Theatre 503, London on 27th February 2023

Panellist - National Ensemble actor Kirsty Adams
Panellist - Lou Ramsden, writer (SCOLD, Writing Tomorrow’s Theatre)
Panellist - Ben Weatherill, writer (JELLYFISH, National Theatre)
Panellist- Tom Wentworth, writer (RALPH & KATIE BBC1)

How to…

Write with, and for, actors with learning disabilities using the Silent Approach – practical tips plus a panel discussion about the representation of neurodivergent actors in theatre, film and TV.

Artistic Director Ness Brooks, playwright, producer and director, Separate Doors founder and creator of the Silent Approach is joined by the company’s New Writing Associate Judith Johnson PhD, playwright and academic.  Tools and exercises will offer writers and directors insights into making work with leading roles for actors with learning disabilities.  The second part of the session will be a panel discussion exploring the role of the writer in making this kind of integrated work, in both theatre and TV.

This workshop is funded by the Noel Coward Foundation.

Open Silent Approach rehearsals and live stream at Level Centre, Rowsley near Matlock between 15th and 18th May 2023

Our National Ensemble of actors with and without learning disabilities, three Guest Directors and full creative team will work on new play HOPE VALLEY HOTEL & SPA using the Silent Approach between 15th and 18th May.

Spaces are available in the rehearsal room for theatre professionals, please email for more information.

The rehearsal will be live streamed. More information and links coming soon.

Silent Approach webinar 5th June 2023 – save the date

Meet members of our National Ensemble, Guest Directors and creative team for an online conversation about our ‘Directing Tomorrow’s Theatre’ project.

Link coming soon.

A recording of the ‘Writing Tomorrow’s Theatre’ scratch performance in the Minerva Theatre at Chichester Festival Theatre on 28th November, 2021.

Premiere performances of new short plays JANE THE FOOL by Elizabeth Kuti, SPILT by Lydia Marchant, THE WISHING STONE by Sarah Middleton and SCOLD by Lou Ramsden.

Director                       Ness Brooks

Score & sound            Loz Kaye

Movement                   Angela Gasparetto

Ensemble lead            Faye Austin-Billing


Kirsty Adams

Charlie Bence

Liz Crowther

Margaret Fraser

Mary Malone

Tessa Parr

Tom Powell

Nicky Priest

Mary Roubos

Kate Spencer

Johnny Vivash

George Webster